The Flood of 1953
The people of Canvey Island came together today for a service of Remembrance for those who died in the Canvey Island Floods of February 1st 1953 and the unveiling of a new plaque to remember the 58 who died.
The service was held outside the Library on the February 1st 2011, 58 years after the event. It was very cold but thankfully the rain held off. Revd David Tudor lead the service which ended with the uplifting Hymn ‘Morning has broken like the first morning’.
Canvey Island Town Council Chairman Cllr John Anderson and Councillor Ray Howard addressed the crowd with Ray Howard talking about his flood experience and the 50th anniversary back in 2003 and lastly Cllr Jeremy Lucas, Cabinet Member for Heritage, Culture and the Art spoke about the libraries. Canvey Island Town Council Chairman Cllr John Anderson and Castle Point Mayor David Cross then unveiled the New Plaque.
Afterwards we all went into the welcome warmth of the library where hot refreshments were supplied by staff and a display of flood pictures and stories were on display.
Update. The original Plaque is now in the Bay Museum
A list of the people lost, their ages and place of residence can be seen here